Emerald, a French Press Cozy

Oh how happy I am to have the holidays over. Though, admittedly, I still have gifts to make. It wasn’t a good year for me in regards to time and preparation…

I did get a nice little French Press with a gift card I received. And let me tell you, it makes a damn good cup of coffee. If you haven’t tried one, I would highly recommend it!

It does, however, cool kind of quickly. So I figured a little cozy was in order! 🙂

I did it in Tunisian so it would be a little bit thicker. We’ll see how well it works-if nothing else I’ll make a bigger cozy tea kettle style to put over the whole thing!

As usual, I decided I should share this pattern with you. I’m still in a giving mood 🙂

Emerald French Press Cozy

H hook

WW yarn

Ch 20. Pick up back loops across chain.

Work Return Pass– yo, pull thru one loop, *yo, pull thru two loops* repeat *to* across.

Row 1- *skip first st, tss in next st, tss in skipped st* repeat *to* across to last st, tss in last st. Work return pass.

Close up on stitch detail. You’re making a cross/x stitch

Repeat row 1 until edges just touch around your French Press.

Next row (buttonhole row)- *skip first st, tss in next st, tss in skipped st* twice, [skip next st, tss in next st, tss in skipped st, pull loop last made thru one loop, yo]  Repeat *to* 3 times more, repeat [to] once  more, repeat *to* twice more, tss in last st. Work return pass.

Repeat row 1 once more.

Last row-work a bind off row, working in the stitch pattern *skip first st, tss in next st, pull thru one loop, tss in skipped st, pull thru one loop* across to last st, tss in last st, pull thru loop.

Finish off, weave in ends.

Sew buttons to correspond with buttonholes.

As I sit here watching snow fall, I’m thinking I need to make a mug cozy. I’ll probably just have hot drinks in my hands for the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

