Toddler Sunhat

It’s finally starting to get sunny here!! So I thought DD needed a new sunhat ๐Ÿ™‚ ย And I wanted it simple, cute and comfy.

She thought it was great that I wanted to take a picture of her in her hat, so she ran away squealing with laughter. I’ll have to snag a pic of her in it later!

I used Little Lehi cotton/acrylic yarn. It’s nice and soft and I love the color which is really hard to capture in a picture ๐Ÿ˜› It’s a lovely summer yellow. Size is for toddler.

DK weight cotton yarn

H hook

Make magic loop, 10 sc into loop.

Round 1: 2 sc in each st around. 20 sts

Round 2: sc in each st around.

Round 3: [sc in first st, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 30 sts

Round 4: sc in each st around.

Round 5: [sc in first 2 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 40 sts

Round 6: sc in each st around

Round 7: [sc in first 3 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 50 sts

Round 8: sc in each st around.

Round 9: [sc in first 4 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 60 sts

Rounds 10-14: sc in each st around

Round 15: sl st in next st, ch 2 (counts as first dc) dc in each st around. Join to top of ch 2. 60 dc

Rounds 16-19 :ch 2, fpdc around each dc, join to top of ch 2.

Round 20: do not ch, sc in each st around.

Round 21: [sc in first 5 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 70 sts

Round 22: sc in each st around.

Round 23: [sc in first 6 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 80 sts

Round 24: sc in each st around

Round 25: [sc in first 7 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 90 sts

Round 26: sc in each st around

Round 27: [sc in first 8 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 100 sts

Round 28: sc in each st around

Round 29: [sc in first 9 sts, 2 sc in next st] repeat [ ] around. 110 sts

Round 30: sc in each st around.

Sl st in next st. Break yarn and fasten off.

I may add some ties to it if it becomes..necessary. Usually DD is pretty good about wearing hats, but you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

17 thoughts on “Toddler Sunhat

  1. Love your hat. Just what my Granddaughter needs. How much yarn did you use. I have 3.5 oz. (and a little more) of TLC Cotton Plus – (left from a tube/halter top I just made her, and I’d love to use this. Think it would be enough?

    • I do believe so-the yarn I used was little lehigh and it was a 3.5 oz skein, which i used a little over half of. Side note-I just found out that little lehigh changed their name to tatamy (just in case anyone wants to used the same yarn)

    • Magic loop is a way to start off a project in the round so that you don’t have a hole. I’d recommend pulling up a video for it, as a visual demonstration is a better way to explain it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I have spent so much time searching fo a simple pull over vest pattern for my grandson approx size 4-6.. all i find are baby girl beauties.. and one vest that would have been nice but did not give conversions for sizes larger than 2. I WANT SOMETHING SIMPLE THAT CAN BE WORN WITH DRESS SHIRTS OR EVEN OVER A TEE SHIRT WITH SHORTS.. HE IS ASKING NONINA TO MAKE HIM SOMETHING.. sORRY FOR TYPE ERRORS WITH CAPPS.. NOT MEANT FOR RAISING MY VOICE.. JUST PUSHED THE WRONG BUTTON..O, I LOVE YOR SITE AND HAVE MADE SEVERAL OF THE ITEMS.. THANK-YOU, LORI

  3. Ah, finished….my new favorite hat pattern. Slightly altered to fit my 5 month old baby, and I made the band white, maybe a little yellow flower. Your pattern made so much sense to me and was clearly written and ready to understand. Thank you so much. God bless you.

  4. I’m new to crocheting and would love to make this for my daughter but I’m not sure what a magic loop is. Please help

    • fpdc is the abbreviation for front post double crochet. It’s a stitch that is worked around the front of the double crochet of the previous row, instead of working into the top of the stitch.

  5. This hat is adorable! I started making one for my niece and ran into trouble. I don’t know what a “magic loop” so I just chained 3 and slip stitched to make a loop. Also,The fpdc stitch ridge was on the inside of the hat. What did I do wrong?

    • What you did was just fine to start off the hat. Magic loop is just a technique to eliminate the hole. It is used a lot in amigurumi toys as well as hats. Hmmm the post stitches must’ve just been worked the opposite way.

Leave a Reply

