Anti cat dish towel

Ya know, I love my cats. But they love destroying things. On a daily basis. Especially my kitchen towels draped over the oven door.   I know I’m the one who’s mistaken; it’s not a towel but a throne for fuzzy cat butt. My apologies to kittehs everywhere. Buuut I’m tired of it sooo I’m working to make a bunch of hanging towels instead. And here’s the first pattern I whipped up!

The Anti Cat Dish Towel

2 skeins of peaches n cream (or ww cotton yarn)

H hook

Button

Ch 46

Dc in 4th ch from hook, dc across.  Ch 3, turn.

Skip first dc, dc in next st. *fpdc around next 2 st, dc in next st.* repeat * to * till end, dc in last st. Ch 3, turn.

Skip first st, dc in next st.  *fpdc in next st, dc in next 2 st* repeat * to * across row to last st, fpdc around last st, end with a dc in turning chain. Ch 3, turn.

Skip first st, dc in next  st, *fpdc around next 2 st, dc in next st* repeat * to * across row to last st, fpdc around st, dc in turning ch. Ch 3, turn.

Repeat last 2 rows for desired length.

At last row, ch 1 and turn.

Sc decrease over  first two st.  Repeat across row. Ch 1, turn.

Repeat this decrease until 6 st remain (you will have one extra st at the end of a row, just sc into it and turn)

Ch 1, turn. Sc across 6 st. Ch 2, turn.

*Dc in first st, sc in next st.* Repeat from * to * for 15 rows. Ch 2, turn.

Next row for m buttonhole: Dc in first st, sc in next st, ch  2, skip 2 sts, dc in next st, sc in last st. Ch 2, turn.

Work in pattern again for  2 more rows.

Next row: Work 3 sc dec for a remainder of 3 st, then finish off.

Sew button onto towel, and you’re done!

*updated-now with pics!! cats, of course, were nowhere to be found for some kitteh photography. go figure.

2 thoughts on “Anti cat dish towel

Leave a comment