It’s beginning to look a lot like….Hoth

Winters in Wyoming are obnoxiously cold. I’ve been joking with everyone that it seems more like Hoth around here. And with my job, I’m usually out in it when it decides to blow 30+ miles an hour icy death winds. I decided I probably need to make a cowl/face warmer to help block out some of that nasty wind.

Image

I made ninja jokes all night.

It’s an easy enough pattern! So I thought I’d share it with everyone.

J hook

Worsted Weight yarn

Stitches used:

foundation half double crochet-fdhc

back loop only-blo

fhdc 45

ch 1, turn. hdc in blo across

repeat for 15 rows(or until length desired-enough to cover from ear to ear)

Image

next row: ch 1, turn. hdc to last 15 sts, skip these sts and ch 17.

turn, single crochet in 3rd ch from hook and each st in blo across.

repeat for 14 rows(or similar size to front half)

Image

ch 1, turn. hdc in blo to last 15 sts. Stop, break yarn leaving a long tail

thread onto sewing needle,and sew last row made to first row made.

Image

Finish off, weave in ends.

And waa-laa! A nice warm cowl to keep out the winds of Wyoming.

One thought on “It’s beginning to look a lot like….Hoth

  1. A:hover { COLOR: red } A { TEXT-DECORATION: none; COLOR: #0088cc } A.primaryactionlink:link { COLOR: #fff; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #2585b2 } A.primaryactionlink:visited { COLOR: #fff; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #2585b2 } A.primaryactionlink:hover { COLOR: #fff !important; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #11729e } A.primaryactionlink:active { COLOR: #fff !important; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #11729e }

    here it is 60 today in odessa, ny but normal temps are in 30’s we have no snow but I am sure soon we will need one of these to keep our face warm. thanks for the pattern. I am sharon at windytee@msn.com

Leave a comment